My new gooey friend – Camembert Cheese

27 Jul
Unpasturized goodness...

Unpasturized goodness...

I’d like to express my new found love for Camembert cheese. How I love you my gooey, unpasteurized friend. You might not be great for my waistline but your perfect for my soul…

I bought some Camembert recently mistaking it for Brie and what a wonderful mistake it was! Upon arriving at home I excitedly unwrapped the cheese and noticed the label. At first I was a bit suspicious because it looked just like Brie… aaah, but after the first bite I knew it was something new and definitely love. The flavor was similar to Brie but with a little extra nutty kick to it. It melted perfectly into my warmbread just like butta’. After that… I WAS HOOKED.

It turns out that Brie and Camembert are actually made the exact same way but in different parts of France which explains the similiar look and flavor. But there’s something about Camembert that just makes it a standout. Unfortunately I don’t have a super trained palette so I’m still trying to make the exact distinction between the flavor and texture of both cheeses. What I know for sure is that Camembert is absolutely fabulous!

Delicious on its own or with fresh, crunchy bread, I’m still interested in pairing it up with other flavors. I came across this recipe recently on www.epicurious.com and will definitely have to give it a try. It sounds like a wonderful mixture of flavors. Check it out:

Camembert with Blue Cheese, Figs and Port Sauce

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/CAMEMBERT-WITH-BLUE-CHEESE-FIGS-AND-PORT-SAUCE-5728

One Response to “My new gooey friend – Camembert Cheese”

  1. stacey88 October 1, 2008 at 5:00 pm #

    I recently blogged about my own obsession with Camembert and would love to find out what it is that makes it so addictive! I too was sceptical when first introduced – how could something wrapped in mould possibly be that tasty? But soon, I was hooked! Have you tried deep-frying it with egg and breadcrumbs? If not, it’s a must for anyone that’s as obsessed with this delectable, mouth-watering treat. Try it with fig jam and pears or cranberry sauce (which most restaurants offer), it’s scrumptious. Luckily for us addicts, Camembert isn’t as fatty as they say. I read a blog which stated that the fat content of it is not 45% as most boxes read, but is actually only 21%. While this is obviously more than a low-fat diet would require, I must agree with you that the good it does for one’s soul far outweighs its fat content!

Leave a Reply

